Blog 4

Initially for my interview I selected Professor Gaspar, but he was not eligible for interview, so I had to improvise and I got my IDS Connections Professor Milhorn to participate instead. I selected Professor Milhorn in particular because after Gaspar was out of the question he seemed like a very fitting candidate especially after the conversations we shared in class. Professor Milhorn briefly scratched the surface talking about his life and career and how it was controversial being a married homosexual male. As a writer I fell in love with essentially what would be a hook it reeled me in enough to want to follow through and hear about some of the trials, tribulations, and rigors that he faced in his life and career journey. The most challenging part of conducting my interview was finding an interviewee with a similar availability to mine because life does not stop for anyone and I still have to work and if someone had prior arrangements they aren’t always willing to compromise their plans for someone else to benefit. I am still trying to find a way to overcome my roadblock, and find a time to reschedule my interview or I will have to find another candidate .. FAST.

One response to “Blog 4”

  1. Hi, Torrey. Good idea you had with going with another teacher you have, makes sense given who you initially wanted. This definitely sounds like an interesting report, that I think would actually be really impactful for the campus. Having an openly gay teacher express their past and present I think would be really helpful for other LGBT students at HCC, or students who are still figuring out their sexuality. Definitely agree with you on about how hard finding another interviewee is though, it has always been my least favorite part of these reports (I took another journalism class in the spring semester), and I actually forgot about it for most of my report, but I’ll definitely make sure to include one before I turn it in. Still though, it’s great to hear how you overcame your initial rejection from Gaspar, and it seems like you have a good idea on what your story will be about, hope it turns out splendid!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started